About the Commission

The California Children and Families First Act of 1998 provided for the creation of a county Commission charged with promoting, supporting and improving the early development of children from the prenatal stage through five years of age. The Commission, now called First 5 Sonoma County Commission, was established by the Sonoma County Board of Supervisors in December 1998.

The Commission is comprised of three ex-officio members and six representatives from the following seven categories:

  • Recipients of the project services included in the county strategic plan
  • Educators specializing in early childhood development
  • Representatives of a local childhood care resource or referral agency or a local childhood care coordinating group
  • Representatives of a local organization for prevention or early intervention for families at risk
  • Representatives of community-based organizations that have the goal of promoting nurturing and early childhood development
  • Representatives of local school districts
  • Representatives of local medical, pediatric, or obstetric associations or societies


Current Commissioners

  1. Supervisor Lynda Hopkins, Board of Supervisors, Ex-Officio member
  2. Barbie Robinson, Director, Ex-Officio member, Sonoma County Department of Health Services
  3. Oscar Chavez, Assistant Department Director, Sonoma County Human Services Department
  4. Kelly Bass Seibel, Vice President of Public Policy for the Santa Rosa Chamber of Commerce
  5. Dr. Jeff Miller, Pediatrician
  6. Cynthia Murray, President/ CEO of North Bay Leadership Council (NBLC)
  7. Michele Rogers, Executive Director and Co-Founder, Early Learning Institute
  8. Jennielynn Holmes, Director of Shelter and Housing, Catholic Charities
  9. Socorro Shiels, Director of Education, California Collaborative for Educational Excellence